Deconstructed Calico

I’ve been making a virtual collection of calico cat images on Pinterest. I have a board called “Deconstructed Calico,” because I kept finding images with the calico palette (red/orange, black, and white) that weren’t pictures of calico cats! I’ve found that trio of colors–plus the often added complement, green–on images of quilts, on African textiles, paintings of the Aboriginal dreamtime, on cat cartoons, and on stationery.

I love how it looks like the artist, photographer, or designer thought about calico cats, but then distilled out the colors and applied them in other manners than just being combined on one cat (or tricolor collie, or Beagle, or . . . . ).

I’ve been wanting to share some of these images in various blog posts, but (tech spoiler), I can’t get any of them to upload, so damn, I give up trying to share them here. I’m just going to share the link to my “Deconstructed Calico” Pinterest board instead, and you can wander on over and see the red/black/white textiles and Manets and stationery!

I hope you like all the ways in which calico gets expressed . . . if you think about it: http://pinterest.com/cocoowen2/deconstructed-calico/

If you have some images of calico split into its three constituent colors–like the image below–and you want to share, please leave a comment with a link to the image.

Pinterest featue in Metro - 27th February 2012

Pinterest feature in Metro – 27th February 2012 (Photo credit: Great British Chefs)

Leave a Reply

